Latvia Immigration Information, Entry Visa - Allo' Expat Latvia
Allo' Expat Latvia - Connecting Expats in Latvia  
Allo' Expat Latvia Logo

Subscribe to Allo' Expat Newsletter
your banner here !!
   Information Center Latvia
Latvia General Information
Latvia Expatriates Handbook
Useful Numbers
Immigration Information
  Entry Visa
Work Permit
Latvia and Foreign Government
Latvia General Listings
Latvia Useful Tips
Latvia Education & Medical
Latvia Travel & Tourism Info
Latvia Lifestyle & Leisure
Latvia Business Matters
  Sponsored Links

your banner here !!

1(USD) = 0.5115(LVL)
Sat | 05:30AM

Latvia Immigration Information Entry Visa


Latvia is a member of the Schengen Agreement. Passport valid for at least three months beyond length of stay is required by all nationals except EU/EEA nationals and Swiss nationals holding a valid national ID card.

There are no border controls between countries that have signed and implemented the treaty - the European Union (except Bulgaria, Cyprus, Ireland, Romania and the United Kingdom), Iceland, Norway and Switzerland. Likewise, a visa granted for any Schengen member is valid in all other countries that have signed and implemented the treaty. But be careful as not all EU members have signed the Schengen treaty, and not all Schengen members are part of the European Union.

Note: EU and EEA nationals are only required to produce evidence of their EU/EEA nationality and identity in order to be admitted to any EU/EEA Member State. This evidence can take the form of a valid national passport or national identity card. Either is acceptable. Possession of a return ticket, any length of validity on their document, sufficient funds for the length of their proposed visit should not be imposed.


Visa is required by all nationals except the following for a stay of up to 90 days within any six-month period:

• nationals of Australia, Canada, Japan and USA;

• nationals of Andorra, Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong (SAR), Israel, Korea (Rep), Macau (SAR), Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Romania, San Marino, Singapore, Switzerland, Uruguay, Vatican City and Venezuela;

• transit passengers continuing their journey by the same or first connecting aircraft, provided holding onward or return documentation and not leaving the airport, except citizens of: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Congo (Democratic Republic), Eritrea, Ethiopia, Ghana, Iran, Iraq, Nigeria, Pakistan, Somalia and Sri Lanka who must obtain an airport transit visa issued prior to arrival.

Note: Nationals of countries who require an airport transit visa can cross the transit zone without one provided that they:

• hold a valid residence permit, entry visa or transit visa for Latvia;

• hold a valid entry visa or residence permit issued by a member of the EU or Schengen Agreement;

• hold a valid residence permit issued by Andorra, Canada, Japan, Liechtenstein, Monaco, San Marino, Switzerland, USA and the Vatican City, guaranteeing the right to return;

• the national is a crew member of an airplane or citizen of a country which is a member of the December 7th 1944 International Civil Aviation Convention.

See more information on the next page... (next)